"We the People" wins NAACP's Image Award, nabs Annie Awards nominations

March, 2022 — Made in collaboration with the Obamas and Netflix, “We the People” is a Schoolhouse Rock-inspired musical anthology series from Chris Nee and Kenya Barris that aims to give a civics crash course to a nation that thinks the filibuster is a topping at Cinnabon.

Mid-way through festival and awards season, the series is already off to a strong start:

  • Annie Awards: Nominated for Best Animated TV Media Production for Children and Best Character Animation for a TV Production
  • NAACP Image Award: Winner for Best Animated Series
  • GLAAD Media Award: Nominated for Outstanding Kids and Family Programming

With original songs performed by the likes of Janelle Monae, Lin-Manuel Miranda, Adam Lambert, and H.E.R., the series reframes our understanding of what government and citizenships mean in our modern world.

More about BUCK's involvement in We The People ->